Crossing Europe – visiting France



Grand Auditorium

The “French” concert of our European trip starts with Claude Debussy’s famous « Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun», whose 100th anniversary is celebrated in 2018. Moving on to Luxor with Camille Saint-Saëns’ Fifth Concerto for piano and orchestra known as “L’Egyptien”, an evocation of memories of the Nile.
On the piano: Joseph Moog, nominated for the Grammy Awards in 2016 and “already one of the most brilliant pianists” (Bryce Morrison, Gramophone). Then, make way for the subtle sounds of Maurice Ravel’s Tombeau de Couperin, a small masterpiece of orchestration and a great success of the Swedish Ballets in 1920. This first OCL concert in the Philharmonic’s Grand Auditorium is conducted by the first female conductor to win the prestigious Georg Solti Competition: Shiyeon Sung, a highly acclaimed assistant to James Levin at the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg
Shiyeon Sung Conductor (Website)
Joseph Moog Conductor (Website)


Claude Debussy
Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (arr. Iain Farrington)

Camille Saint-Saëns
Concerto n°5 en fa majeur op. 103 («L’Égyptien»)

Maurice Ravel
Le Tombeau de Couperin, version pour orchestre

Duration: 70’


Philharmonie Grand Auditorium
1 Place de l’Europe
L-1499 Luxembourg

Google Maps


GA 30€
<26years : 15€
free entry for children <12ans