Crossing Europe – visiting Spain



Salle de Musique de Chambre

The “Spanish” concert, conducted by Vahan Mardirossian, takes us to the palaces of the Alhambra in Granada, with the stylish serenade En La Alhambra (1888) by Tomás Bretón y Hernández. Then, off to the Aranjuez gardens of Rodrigo’s famous Concerto with the extraordinary guitarist Emmanuel Rossenfelder. According to Alexandre Lagoya, «Emmanuel gives the guitar a powerful sound, virtuosity, emotion and fantasy that has already make him a great artist.»

Then, the very marked Hispanic colours, rhythms and fashions of the Cinco danzas gitanas (1a serie) op. 55 by Joaquín Turina who, like Manuel de Falla, once frequented the Paris of Debussy, Dukas and Ravel. Finally, Seville at the ramparts, with Georges Bizet’s unmissable Carmen suite, sumptuously arranged for chamber orchestra by Gábor Kerényi.

Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg
Vahan Mardirossian Conductor (Website)
Emmanuel Rossfelder Guitar (Website)


Bréton Tomàs y Hernández
En la Alhambra, Serenata

Joaquín Rodrigo
Concierto de Aranjuez, para guitarra y orquesta

Joaquín Turina
Cinco danzas gitanas (1a serie) op. 55

Georges Bizet
Carmen: Suite n°1 (arr. Gábor Kerényi)

Duration: 70’


Philharmonie Chamber Music Hall
1 Place de l’Europe
L-1499 Luxembourg

Google Maps


SMC 30€
<26years: 15€
free entrance for children under 12