Crossing Europe – visiting the Grande Région



 Grand Auditorium

The “cross-border” concert, conducted by German conductor Roland Kluttig, begins with Mozart’s famous Symphony No. 31, nicknamed “Parisienne”, the fruit of his stay in the French capital at the age of 22, then to Belgium with the Troisième suite d’orchestre by composer Joseph Jongen, born in 1873 in Liège and died in Sart-lez-Spa in 1953.
And a place for contemporary creation with the work silent blue for 2 percussionists and chamber orchestra, a commissioned work by Luxembourg composer Claude Lenners, giving particular importance to the timbre. In 1933, the Princess de Polignac (Winnaretta Singer, the sewing machine heiress) commissioned Symphonie N° 2 from Kurt Weill, who completed its first movement in Berlin before fleeing to Paris in March. Bruno Walter, who conducted the first one at the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, wanted to call it “Fantaisie Symphonique”

Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg
Roland Kluttig Conductor (Website)
Kraus Frink Percussion (Website)


W.A. Mozart
Symphonie N° 31 D-Dur KV 297 («Pariser Symphonie»)

Joseph Jongen
Troisième suite d’orchestre

Claude Lenners

silent blue for 2 percussionists and chamber orchestra (world premiere)

Kurt Weill
Symphonie N° 2

Duration: 80’


Philharmonie Grand Auditorium
1 Place de l’Europe
L-1499 Luxembourg

Google Maps


SMC 30€
<26years: 15€
free entry for children under 12