Crossing Europe – visiting Germany



 Chamber Music Hall

We then head towards the Germanic countries, under the direction of Munich conductor Markus Huber, who was notably trained by Léopold Hager in Vienna. We open with the Symphony in C minor by German composer Joseph Martin Kraus, surpassed only (or perhaps not?) by Mozart, his illustrious contemporary. Joseph Haydn, the first conductor to have conducted it, was visionary in stating that this symphony would be “regarded as a masterpiece for centuries to come”. Then, make way for the formidable Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Violin Concerto, a masterpiece of German romantic music, by the extraordinary violinist Ye-Eun Choi, discovered and supported by Anne-Sophie Mutter. Andfinally back to the Vienna of the 1920s, with the sequel to Richard Strauss’s Bourgeois gentilhomme citing a famous Menuet by Lully and ending with a fantastic dinner.

Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg
Markus Huber Conductor (Website)
Ye-Eun Choi Violin (Website)


Joseph Martin Kraus
Sinfonie c-moll VB 142

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Violinkonzert e-moll op. 64

Richard Strauss
Der Bürger als Edelmann, suite d’orchestre op. 60

Duration: 78’


Philharmonie Chamber Music Hall
1 Place de l’Europe
L-1499 Luxembourg

Google Maps


SMC 30€
<26years: 15€
free entry for children under 12