Crossing Europe – visiting Italy



Philharmonie Luxembourg
 Salle de Musique de Chambre

Conductor Carlo Rizzari, Antonio Pappano’s assistant at the famous Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome, takes us into Pergolesi’s Baroque Italy with the Sinfonia da’Lo Frate’nnamorato’. This short piece served as the primary material for Igor Stravinsky to compose his ballet Pulcinella, with Picasso’s famous sets, given by the Russian Ballets.
After Germany, France and England, Félix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy stopped off in Italy in the spring of 1830 to compose an “Italian” symphony inspired by the landscapes and emotions he experienced throughout the peninsula. From its joyful Allegro vivace evoking the charms of the Roman countryside to its finale, an impetuous and diabolical Saltarello (dance), this very evocative symphony is undoubtedly one of the masterpieces of romantic music.

Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg
Carlo Rizzari Conductor (Website)


Giovanni Battista Pergolesi
Lo frate ‘nnamorato. Commeddeja pe mmuseca, ouverture

Igor Stravinsky
Pulcinella, suite d’orchestre

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Sinfonie n°4 A-Dur op. 90 («Italienische»)



Philharmonie Chamber Music Hall
1 Place de l’Europe
L-1499 Luxembourg

Google Maps


SMC 30€
< 26: 15€
free entry for children under 12