Cycle Schubert 2.0


5 pm

Philharmonie Chamber Music Hall

Franz Schubert’s Symphonies No. 3 and No. 4 feature on the programme of the fourth philharmonic concert of the OCL, which also includes Cello Concerto No. 1 by Camille Saint-Saëns. Even though Schubert’s Symphony No. 3, D 200 was composed only a few months after the second, it is proof of his increasing maturity. It is Schubert’s first symphonic work that displays all the characteristics of his particular style. Camille Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concerto No. 1, op. 33 is a short work comprising a single movement. With no orchestral introduction, the solo cello asserts itself from the very first bars in this highly virtuoso piece. Schubert called his Symphony No. 4, D 417 “the Tragic” in an allusion to the tormented sentiments expressed in the score.

Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg
Vahan MardirossianConductor
Benjamin Kruithof Cello (Winner of the Grand Prix Anne et Françoise Groben)


Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 3, D 200
Camille Saint-Saëns
Cello Concerto No. 1 I A minor, op. 33
Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 4, D 417, the “Tragic”


Philharmonie Chamber Music Hall
1 Place de l’Europe
L-1499 Luxembourg

Google Maps


SMC €30 (Under 26: €15)
Children under 12: free
Kulturpass: €1.50

The classical music expert Jean-Paul Bettendorf will present an introduction to the symphony of the evening half an hour before the concert. In French.