Cycle Schubert 2.0


8 pm

Philharmonie Grand Auditorium

The final concert in the OCL’s Schubert cycle will be held in the prestigious setting of the Grand Auditorium of the Philharmonie. The two symphonic masterpieces that Schubert has bequeathed to us will be performed. Symphony No. 8, D 759, the “Unfinished” is a very popular work with only two completed movements. The composer had planned two additional movements, but only very rough drafts were found, insufficient to transform them into satisfactory pieces. After the Unfinished Symphony, world-renowned pianist Valentina Lisitsa will join the orchestra for a highlight of Schumann’s oeuvre, his Piano Concerto. The cycle will end with Symphony No. 9, the “Great” Symphony, in C major, D 944. It is a major work of impressive scale that asserts Schubert’s determination to rise to the ranks of Beethoven. He achieved this ambition, as is proved by the place this “Great” symphony holds in the orchestral repertoire.

Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg
Boian Videnoff Conductor
Valentina Lisitsa Piano


Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 8, D 759 “The Unfinished”
Robert Schumann
Piano Concerto
Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 9, D 944 “The Great”


Philharmonie Grand Auditorium
1 Place de l’Europe
L-1499 Luxembourg

Google Maps


Cat 1 €52 (Under 26: €26)
Cat 2 €47 (Under 26: €23)
Cat 3 €32 (Under 26: €16)
Children under 12: free
Kulturpass: €1.50

The classical music expert Jean-Paul Bettendorf will present an introduction to the symphony of the evening half an hour before the concert. In French.