Cycle Schubert 2.0


5 pm

Philharmonie Chamber Music Hall

For the first philharmonic performance of 2018, the OCL has scheduled a particularly sparkling programme: Franz Schubert’s two symphonies in B-flat major. Symphony No. 2, D 125 is a youthful work and was apparently never performed during the composer’s lifetime. It was first performed in 1877 in London, under the baton of the eminent musicologist George Grove and was finally edited by Brahms in 1884. The oboe soloist, Emmanuel Teutsch of the Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg, will take centre stage in the Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra, KV 314, composed in 1777. Symphony No. 5 in B-flat major, D. 485 is one of Schubert’s most popular works. This beguiling symphony, with its elegant melodies, ethereal orchestral textures and a very Mozartian lightness, was composed in 1816.

Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg
Florian Krumpöck Conductor
Emmanuel Teutsch Oboe


Wolfgang A. Mozart
Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra, KV 314

Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 5, D 485
Symphony No. 2, D 125


Philharmonie Chamber Music Hall
1 Place de l’Europe
L-1499 Luxembourg

Google Maps


SMC €30 (under 26: €15)
Children under 12: free
Kulturpass: €1.50

The classical music expert Jean-Paul Bettendorf will present an introduction to the symphony of the evening half an hour before the concert. In French.