The Orchestre de Chambre de Luxembourg, founded in 1974, has borne this new name since 2004, when it was officially recognized as a state orchestra.

The orchestra

For thirty-seven years, thanks to the tireless energy and determination of its founder and mentor, Professor Joseph Groben, as well as the unfailing support of the Ministry of Culture and its partners, the orchestra has had the privilege of performing on numerous occasions, accompanying prestigious soloists as well as major choirs; the orchestra is also an official ambassador of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg abroad.

The extensive experience gained by the Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg over the years has endowed it with all the key strengths that enable it today to continue its ongoing missions, but also — and more importantly, through the rigorous work and unfailing commitment of each and every one of its members — to open new paths, taking bold routes through the seasons to come, and to pledge to continue their intense endeavour to reach out to a diverse, demanding public, both within Luxembourg and internationally.
The chamber formation, which is flexible in terms of the numbers of members who participate in each performance, is fully determined to share the wealth of modes of musical expression of our times with the public. Collaborative work with artists from a number of very varied musical horizons, including jazz, world music, and variety, along with new approaches with diversified forms of expression (theatre, dance, multimedia and more) bring formidable artistic contributions that feed into what always was and will remain the traditional orchestra repertoire: baroque, classical, romantic and contemporary works, and most notably, first performances of Luxembourg composers.

The ensemble has reached a peak of excellence over the years, the fruit of the continued work of their principal conductors, such as David Reiland, Nicolas Brochot and Pierre Cao, to name only the most recent among them.

The OCL is in residence at the Kinneksbond in Mamer.

His Royal Highness Crown Prince Guillaume holds the High Patronage of the Orchestre de Chambre de Luxembourg.


Pascal Monlong

Concert master

Dmitri Shostakovich - Violin Concerto No. 1

Lyonel Schmit

Concert master

Philippe Villafranca

Concert master

Anastasia Milka


Johann Sebastian Bach - Chaconne

Dominique Poppe


Jean Sibelius - Violin Concerto

Solomiya Storozhynska


Gustav Mahler - 5th Symphony ``Adagretto``

Karen O`Brien


Richard Strauss - Alpensinfonie

Carole Leyers


Johannes Brahms - Violin Concerto No. 1

Isabel van Grysperre

Principal 2nd violin

J.S.Bach - Partita

Laura Meier


Robert Schumann – Sonata in A Minor

Antonio Quarta


Eugène Ysaÿe - Ballade

Violetta Musinschii


Max Bruch - Violin Concerto No. 1

Corinne Gerend


Pjotr Iljitsch Tchaikowsky - Violin Concerto No. 1

Catherine Boulot


Pjotr Iljitsch Tchaikowsky - Violin Concerto No. 1

Nikita Gerkusov

Principal viola

Jean-François Mein


Dmitri Shostakovich - Sonata

Joanna Madry


Max Bruch - Kol Nidrei

Judith Lecuit

Principal cello

Pau Casals - Song of the Bird

Anna Origer


Franz Schubert - Arpegione

Maria Kulowska


Szymon Brzóska - The Wanderer

Philippe Petiot

Principal double bass

Ludwig van Beethoven - 5th Symphony

Patricio Banda

Double Bass

Emma Landarrabilco


Aniela Stoffels


Claude Debussy - Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune

Emmanuell Teutsch


Bohuslav Martinu - Oboe Concerto

Seung-Kyung Lee Blondel


Robert Schumann - Three Romances

Sebastien Duguet


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Clarinet Concerto

Malou Garofalo


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Clarinet Concerto

Jean-Paul Dietz


Audrey-Anne Hetz


Richard Strauss - Duet Concertino Basson & Clarinet

Claire Kalisky


Wolfgang Thomas


Claude Origer


Pjotr Iljitsch Tchaikowsky - 6th Symphony

Christopher Hastings

Kettledrum and percussion

AC DC - Back in Black

Genevieve Conter


Benjamin Britten - A Ceremony of Carols


Silvia Ebert General coordinator
Antonio Quarta Production

Board of directors

Erna Hennicot-Schoepges Honorary president
Guy Dockendorf President
Adrien Jung Vice-president
Paul Meyers Treasurer
Jeannot Waringo Member

Our Partners